What a memorable evening and what a wonderful celebration of City Year Baton Rouge’s commitment to keep Baton Rouge students in school and on track to succeed!

It was unbelievably inspiring to have City Year founders and longtime supports, elected officials, City Year Board Members, school partners, community leaders and many new faces together under one roof to unite for an evening to support our amazing City Year Corps Members.  On behalf of the City Year team, thank you for your commitment to our students and our community. Together we will ensure that every student has the resources needed in be successful in school and to contribute to Baton Rouge’s prosperous future.  In particular, thank our presenting sponsors, Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center, for your leadership and generosity. 

Sincerest congratulations and thanks to our honoree, the Irene W. and C.B. Pennington Foundation.  Their support of City Year Baton Rouge has been monumental and we were so excited to celebrate them so publicly.  We look forward to continuing our work together committed to fulfilling the Pennington Foundation’s vision of improving the quality of life for Baton Rouge’s children.

As Sandra Kakraba, corps members proudly serving on the JPMorgan Chase team at Capitol Middle School, shared with us during her profound address, "With the right work ethic, and the knowledge to go with it, anything is possible."

2013-2014 Gala Host Committee

Beth and Rudy Aguilar*
Allison and Ross Barrett*
Candy and Robert Be
Dana and Jim Bernhard
Lori Bertman*
Trisha and John Carmouche
Donna and John Fraiche
Deane and Scott Frazier
Ann and John Paul Funes
Shawna and Dan Gardiner*
Gwen and Todd Graves
Gwen* and Leo Hamilton
Suzanne and David Hamm
Barbara* and Brian Haymon
Luisa and Ben Hu

Kathryn and Luke Kissam*
Emily Landry
Laura and Jared Loftus
Pamela Matassa
Tracey and Ty McMains
Alisa and Michael O'Connor
Laura* and Jay Poche'
Torie and Richard Preis
Jennifer* and Sean Reilly
Melissa and Jimmy Sanchez
Tricia* and Chuck Sanchez
Catherine and Matt Saurage
Whitney Vann and Robert Schneckenburger
Brenda and Tommy Teepell*
Erin Monroe Wesley* and Mitch Wesley

*2013-2014 City Year Baton Rouge Board Member

For more information, please contact Mellie Bailey at 225.663.4222 or mbailey@cityyear.org